Skip to main content

Human Rights Law: Treaties. Basic Introduction

Finding Treaties

Find A Treaty When the United States Is A Party

 

  • Treaties in Force : Law Reference:  Current Year Only.  KZ 235 T74
  • Law Stacks & Microfiche : KF 235 T74 & Hein-On-Line
  • Provides citations to:  United States Treaties and Other International Agreements.  Law Stacks : KZ 235.3 U55 & Hein-On-Line
  • Note: the publication of treaties are years behind the ratification.  An unofficial version of the treaty may have to be obtained.

 

  • United States Department of State. Office of the Legal Advisor. Treaty Affairs.
  • http://www.state.gov/s/l/treaty/
  • You will find a wealth of materials including: Treaties in Force, Treaties Pending

 

  • Current Treaty Index.
  • Law Reference KZ 235 U583 Current Service. 
  • Treaties not yet published in U. S. Treaties and Other International Agreements. 
  • If the treaty has not yet been published a KAV number is assigned for access. The term KAV is based on the author’s name.
  • Hein’s United States Treaties and Other International Agreements.  Current Service. Full text of treaties  - Microfiche. KZ 235.31 H45 & Hein on Line.

Finding A Treaty When the United States Is Not A Party

 

  • Finding Treaties when United States is not a party.

 

  • Start with the, Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General.
  • 1968-
  • Law Reference KZ 171 M86
  • Indexes the United Nations Treaty Series.  

o   Finding a Treaty deposited with the UN

o   Locate Multilateral Treaties Deposited With The Secretary-General, Status as of  1 April 2009.

o   The list of Environmental Treaties is in volume 3, chapter XXVII starting on page LXII

o   Example: The Law of the Sea is in volume 3, chapter XXI starting on page LX.

  • Text of treaty may be available on Microfiche: KZ 172 T74

o   May also be available in International Legal Materials

 

  • Index to Canadian Treaties (Wiktor 2003)
  • Law Reference KZ 355 W553 2003
  • Treaties 1979-2003

 

  • Multilateral Treaties. Index and Current Status (Bowman & Harris) & Supplement 1995.

      Law Reference KZ 118 B68 1984 & 1995 Supplement.

  •  Blackstone’s International Law Documents. (Evans 2000) Selected Treaties.

      Law Reference KZ 64 B43 1999

 

  • There are numerous websites dedicated to treaties.

Multilaterals Project. Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy. Tufts University. Example: http://fletcher.tufts.edu/multilaterals.html

Questions, Help or More Information

Contact the Reference Desk at 207-780-4351

Email to lawref@maine.edu

Finding Secondary Sources On Treaties

 

q  Hein-on-Line. is a great source for information including United States Treaties, Law Review and Journal article.

o   Includes International Legal Documents which republishes numerous treaties.  

o   Available via the Library Catalog, USM Libraries website or Garbrecht Law Library website.

o   Garbrecht Law Library page -  http://mainelaw.maine.edu/library/

o   Resources

o   HeinOnLine

o   Law Journal Library database or Treaties and Agreements Library

o   Word search option available in Law Journal Library.

 

q  Legal Periodicals Full Text:  Law Reviews and Journals.

o   Start at Law Library HomePage

o   Resources

o   Resources Page

o   Wilson Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (Legal Periodicals Full-text)

    • Basic search
    • Use terms from the title of treaty or relevant subject
    • - Example:  Kyoto Protocol.
    • Use of this database is limited to patrons in the Law Library.

 

q  Numerous Databases on Mariner for secondary sources.

http://libraries.maine.edu/mariner/

Examples:Eric, Academic Complete, Jstor.