Skip to main content

Law Library Student Services

About This Guide

This Guide explains the services offered by the Law Library.  It includes information on the annual Carrel Lottery, Library Hours, Study Materials, and Contacting Library Staff.

Please contact the Law Library with any questions.

Study Guides

This Guide includes suggested readings and sources to prepare for class.

Hours of Service

Law school can access the law building and the Garbrecht Law Library via a card swipe system.  Law Students can find more information on Library Hours in the MyLaw Portal.   Visit the Library webpage for Public Library Hours.

The Reference Desk is not staffed on the weekends.

During inclement weather, please call the U.S.M. Stormline at 780-4800 to find out if the Library is open. If U.S.M. has canceled classes and closed its offices, the Law School and the library are also closed.

Collections

The Donald L. Garbrecht Law Library, named for the Law Librarian who served the school from 1963 to 1979, contains over 335,000 volumes, entirely shelved in open stacks. Our library supports the law school's curricular needs, as well as the faculty’s scholarly writing.  The law library is a U.S. government publications depository, and has both online and print access to the complete collection of federal and state statutes and law reports, as well as a comprehensive collection of Canadian and British Commonwealth material.  Our periodical collection is outstanding and features most American, Canadian, and British legal periodicals. Also included in the library's collection are the personal legal papers of Judge Edward Gignoux, the U.S. District Court judge who presided over numerous high-profile cases and was twice considered for nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court and the personal legal papers of Judge Frank M. Coffin, former Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit.

Facilities

The Garbrecht Law Library is located on the second and third floors of the Law Building, with administrative offices on the fourth floor.  An addition was added to the law building in 1993 to house the library's growing collection.  Here you will find the library's British and Canadian collections, general stacks, and tables for group study.  

Circulation is just off the main elevator on the third floor and the reference department and the Maine Collection are just around the corner on that same floor.  

The Judge Edward T. Gignoux Special Collections and Rare Book Room, located on the fourth floor, houses the personal papers of two of Maine's most prominent judges, Judge Edward T. Gignoux and Judge Frank M. Coffin.