Skip to main content

Law Library Student Services

Finding Books At The Garbrecht Law Library--URSUS

URSUS is the online catalog for the Garbrecht Law Library. It is the shared catalog for the libraries in the University of Maine System, the Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library, and the Maine State Library. When doing a large research project, we recommend that you do not limit your search to just the law library's collection but take advantage of your access to all of the libraries in the system in order to find the material you need.  

If you have questions about the collection or how to use the catalog, please email the reference staff at lawref@maine.edu.  They are always happy to help.

 

All students receive an ID card. This card allows you to check out material from the Law Library and the other libraries in the URSUS system. It also allows you remote access to the electronic databases to which the Library subscribes. If you have any problems accessing the databases from home or with checking out material, please contact the reference staff at lawref@maine.edu or at x4351.

 

Search right from this guide using the search box below.

 

Circulation of Library Materials

Almost all of the material in the Law Library’s collection can be checked out to students for one semester.  The exception to this is material on Special Reserve, which is limited to a 4 hour loan period (see description below).  Your student id is your library card.  Please try to remember to bring it with you when you are checking out material. 

Special Reserve Collection & Equipment

Special Reserve is the collection of material located behind the Circulation Desk and is limited to a 4 hour loan period.  It includes current periodicals, high-demand treatises, Maine specific legal material, Maine CLE material, and Faculty Reserves.  

In addition, all audio/visual equipment is located in the cabinet behind the circulation desk and needs to be checked out prior to use.  This includes 2 laptops, 2 projectors, a digital audio recorder and a digital video recorder.  This equipment can be checked out on a 24 hour loan.  Please make every effort to return all equipment to the Circulation Desk when you have finished with it, especially all power cords. You can contact the circulation staff directly at x4350 to reserve this equipment.

 

Library Fines for Garbrecht Law Library Materials.

The Library does not charge fines for Law Library material that has been returned after the due date.

Please note that this is limited to Law Library material ONLY. Fines or fees incurred on material from other URSUS system libraries or for interlibrary loan materials cannot be waived

We encourage you to check your patron record, to keep track of the material you have checked out from the other URSUS libraries and act accordingly as to renewals and returns. 

Please contact the Circulation/ILL Department at x4351 if you have any questions about material you have checked out.

Requesting Material Available in the URSUS System

If we do not have an item in the Law collection, but it is held in one of the other URSUS libraries, you can request that material yourself by using the Requestor feature in URSUS. This is done by clicking the “request” button at the top of the screen, once you are in the record for the item you want.

After clicking the "request" button, you will be asked to provide your name and your barcode from your Student ID.  Also on that same screen you will be asked to choose your pick up location. You will select “law” from the drop down list. You will click submit when you have completed the form.

This request will be sent out by the system. When the material arrives at the law school, Megan York, our staff member in charge of ILL, will place on hold shelf at the Circulation Desk.

Library Fines for Requestor Materials:

The Law Library's no fine policy is limited to Law Library material ONLY. Fines or fees incurred on material from other URSUS system libraries or for interlibrary loan materials cannot be waived.  We encourage you to check your patron record, accessible from the Law Library homepage to keep track of the material you have checked out from the other URSUS libraries and act accordingly as to renewals and returns. 

Please contact the Circulation Department at x4350 if you have any questions about material you have checked out.

 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If we do not own an item and the item is not available at any of the other libraries in the URSUS library system, the Library will attempt to borrow the item from another library for your use. In order to place an interlibrary loan request, you will need to complete one of the online forms, depending on the type of material (book or article) that you need. The Law Library’s Interlibrary loan forms and other polices can be found online. These services are managed by the Administrative Manager for Access Services. She can be reached at 207-780-4818. When making an ILL request, it is important to provide as much information as possible so that we can quickly identify and locate the items you need. Once we have identified what you need, the amount of time it takes to get the material depends on the lending library. Generally, it takes two weeks to receive the material. When the materials arrive, the interlibrary loan staff will notify you. We will follow up with you when the material must be returned.

 

Library Fines for Inter-Library Loans:

The Law Library's no fine policy is limited to Law Library material ONLY. Fines or fees incurred on material from other libraries interlibrary loan materials cannot be waived

Please contact the Administratvie Manager for Access Services at x4818 if you have any questions about material you have checked out via ILL.

Accessing Online Legal Resources

The law library subscribes to various electronic information sources, including, but not limited to: LexisNexis, WestLawBloomberg, HeinOnline, and BNA. 

Please contact a Reference Librarian at lawref@maine.edu or by calling x4351, if you need assistance or passwords. You can access many of these databases while not in the law building.  In some cases you will need to enter your name and barcode from your faculty ID to gain access.  

Research Assistants

The library does not supervise faculty research assistants.  However, the library staff is always available to help research assistants in their work for the faculty, including one on one research traiining.  

In addition, a record in the Circulation system can be created for material checked out by research assistants on behalf of the faculty with whom they work, so as to insure the longer borrowing privileges allowed for faculty.  Please contact Christine Iaconeta at  christine.iaconeta@maine.edu or at x4827 if you would like a record created for your research assistants.

Accessing Electronic Databases

Mariner is the portal researchers can use to access the multitude of electronic databases available via the University of Maine System.  Here the researcher will find databases from the health sciences, the social sciences and much more.  

There are two ways in which to access the Mariner databases.  The first is via the sites One Search feature, in the Quick Search Box.  Here the researcher can enter search terms and One Search will search all of the databases in the Mariner portal and retrieve relevant material from them all.  The material retrieved can include both books as well as journal articles and newspaper articles.

The second way to access the Mariner databases is via the A-Z Database listing.  The clicking either the "Indexes and Databases" tab in the "Quick Search" box or by clicking the "Indexes and Databases" link in the yellow box near the center of the page, the researcher will be directed to an alphabetical listing of all of the databases to which they have access.  Clicking the links provided will take you directly to the database, where you can enter your search terms.

Remember, you will need to enter your last name and the bar code from your student ID in order to access these databases remotely from anywhere off campus or via the school's wireless network.

Below are just a few databases that may help you with your research. 

Faculty Reserves

Professors place items on Faculty Reserve for use by  students.  This material maybe found at the Circulation Desk on the 3rd floor of the Library. 

Reference Services

The reference staff is available to help you prepare papers for your classes as well as help you with your scholarly the research.  instruction.

During the academic year, a reference librarian is available at the Reference Desk Monday-Thursday 8:30 am-6:00 pm and on Fridays 8:30 am-4:30 pm.  Reference staff is NOT available on the weekends.  If you need reference assistance, the Reference Desk is located on the 3rd floor of the Library, just off the main elevator.  You can also call the Reference Department at x4351 or email them at lawref@.maine.edu.  We look forward to helping you in with your classwork and scholarly endeavors.