Skip to main content

Law Library Student Services

Location of Materials

The Law Library's collection is located on the second and third floors of the main building and in the Annex addition to the law building.  Below is a detailed description of what materials can be found where in the librry.  We are always glad to provide tours of the library.  To arrange for a tour, contact the reference librarians at lawref@maine.edu.

If you have a suggestion for a new acquisition, you can contact anyone on the the library staff.  

Second Floor—Main Building

The law library's collection of primary legal resources can be found on the second floor of the library, in the law school's main building.  Here you will find a complete collection of federal primary legal resources, as well as AmJur, ALR and ALR Federal.  In addition, the second floor of the main law building houses the state primary legal materials and the law library's classified collections. 

 

Third Floor-Main Building

On the third floor of the law library you will find the Circulation and Reference Departments as well as the library's extensive law review collection.  Also on the third floor reference area houses the Maine materials, including Maine cases, statutes, legislative documents and regulatory information. 

First Floor Annex

In the first floor of the annex you will find the library's Commonwealth Collection. 

Second Floor Annex

The Second Floor Annex is primarily a space for students to study. There are several large tables that can be used by library patrons. 

Third Floor Annex

The Third Floor Annex houses the library's Canadian Collection.  This collection contains a wide variety of treatises specific to Canadian law, including torts, contracts, constitutional law, criminal law, family law, tax, and secured transactions.  The Law Library staff relies on the Canadian Legal Information Institute (CANLII) website for access to case reporters and statutes for Canada and for all of the Canadian provinces. 

Location of Research Tools

Publication

Location

Am Jur (American Jurisprudence)

2nd Floor Federal Primary Room/Reading Room

ALR

2nd  Floor Federal Primary Room/Reading Room

ALR Federal

2nd Floor Federal Primary Room/Reading Room

CFR (Code of Federal Regulations)

2nd Floor Federal Primary Room/Reading Room

Current Index To Legal Periodicals

Electronic Resource: See Reference Librarian for Help.

Federal Register

2nd Floor Federal Primary Room/Reading Room

Index To Legal Periodicals

3rd Floor Reference Collection

Wilson’s Index To Legal Periodicals

Electronic Resource: From Law Library Home page, Click: Resources, Wilson’s Index…, Proceed

CFR List of Statutes Affected

2nd Floor Federal Primary Room/Reading Room

Reporters for Maine

3rd Floor Reference Room, 3rd Floor Circ. Desk Special Reserve; 2nd Floor Stacks.

Shepard’s Citators for Maine Statutes and Cases

3rd Floor Reference Room, 2nd Floor Stacks

Shepard’s Citators US Statutes

Electronic Resource: From the Law Library Homepage Click: Resources; Shepard’s (Lexis)

Note: Library only gets print Shepard’s for Maine.

Maine Statutes

3rd Floor Reference Room,  3rd Floor Special Reserve, 2nd Floor Stacks.

US Code, USCA, USCS

2nd Floor Federal Primary Room/Reading Room

US Government Manual

3rd Floor Reference Collection (JK 421 A3)

West’s Maine Digest

3rd Floor Reference Room, 2nd Floor State Primary Material

West’s Regional Digest

 

2nd Floor State Room.  Note: Library has Atlantic Digest only.

West’s Regional Reporters

2nd Floor State Primary Room

Hornbooks

2nd Floor Law Stacks, Select Titles 3rd Floor Special Reserve

Restatements

2nd Floor Law Stacks, Select Titles 3rd Floor Special Reserve

Treatises

2nd Floor Law Stacks, (Select Titles 3rd Floor Special Reserve, State Specific Treaties 2nd Floor State Primary Room)

Law Reviews & Journals

Print located 3rd Floor Periodical Room (alphabetical by title)

Also available online via HeinOnline, LexisNexis and Westlaw

Library of Congress Classification for Law Materials

Subject

Call Number

Subject

Call Number

Administrative Law

KF 5401

Immigration

KF 4801

Admiralty

KF 1111

Insurance

KF 1163

Antitrust

KF 1631

Intellectual Property

KF 2971

Animal Rights

KF 3841

Jurisprudence

KF 379

Banking & Bankruptcy

KF 966, 1510

Juvenile

KF 9700

Business Associations

KF 1365

Labor

KF 3301

Business Planning

KF6450

Land Use Planning

KF 5691

Civil Procedure

KF8810

Landlord-Tenant, Housing

KF 586, 5721

Civil Rights

KF 4741, JX 4000

Legal Aid

KF 336

Collective Bargaining

KF 3408, HD 6480

Legal Research & Writing

KF 240

Commercial Transactions

KF 871, 956

Legislation

KF 4945

Communications

KF 2161

Medical-Legal

KF 3821

Conflicts of Law

KF 400

Negotiable Instruments

KF 957

Constitutional Law

KF 4501

Partnerships

KF 1375

Consumer Credit

KF 1039, 1601

Products Liability

KF 1296

Contracts

KF 801

Professional Responsibility

KF 305

Copyright, Patents, & Trademarks

KF 2986

Real Property

KF 566

Corporations

KF 1384

Remedies

KF 9010

Creditors’ Rights

KF 1501

Securities

KF 1431

Criminal Law & Procedure

KF 9201

Secured Transactions

KF 1050

Domestic Relations

KF 501

Social Welfare Law

KF 3300

Education

KF 4119

State & Local Government

KF 5300

Employment Practices

KF 3457

Taxation

KF 6271, 6763

Environmental Law

KF 3775

Torts

KF 1246

Estates & Trusts

KF 577, 726

Trade Regulations

KF 1600

Evidence

KF 8931, 9660

Trial Tactics

KF 8911

Family Law

KF 501

Trusts & Estates

KF 726

Federal Jurisdiction

KF 4600, 8739

Wills

KF 750, 6584

Food, Drug, & Cosmetics

KF 3864

Workers’ Compensation

KF 3611

Future Interests

KF 605

Zoning Law

KF 5698

Housing, Landlord-Tenant

KF 586, 5721