Skip to main content

By The Numbers—Law Library Assessment: Home

Law Librarians of New England Fall 2016 Meeting. Held at the Westin Hotel in Portland, ME October 28, 2016

Join Us!

Save the Date!

 

REGISTRATION DEADLINE: OCT. 21, 2016.

REGISTER NOW.

BOOK YOUR STAY.

Topic

BY THE NUMBERS: LAW LIBRARY ASSESSMENT

In this era where libraries MUST prove their worth and value to the institutions they serve, data collection and library assessment has become an essential duty librarians must undertake.  Data collection and analysis will allow librarians to better understand and quantify the library's strengths and weaknesses, determine the drives of demand on the library's resources, along with changes in those demands, and to properly allocate resources.  improved understanding of the data generated will allow librarians to justify resources needed, motivate staff, and better plan for the future.  At the Fall LLNE meeting, attendees will be introduced to tools used for law library data collection and assessment for all segments of law librarianship. 

In addition, we will be celebrating LLNE's 70th Anniversary with a program highlighting LLNE's history and accomplishements.

 

We hope to see you all there!

 

University of Maine School of Law

Maine State Law & Legislative Reference Library

About Your Hosts

The Donald L. Garbrecht Law Librarysupports the research and educational needs of the studentsfaculty and staff at the University of Maine School of Law. The Library provides assistance to the state’s judiciary, members of the bar, the legal community, and the general public. The Library has a broad mission and a varied collection.  As a U.S. Government publications depository, the law library receives federal publications which support legal research. The law library has a complete collection of federal and select New England state statutes and law reports, as well as a comprehensive collection of Canadian and British Commonwealth law reports and statutes. Our periodical collection is extensive and includes most American Law Reviews. Computer assisted legal research services are available to students, staff, and faculty.

The Law Library has a staff of five professional librarians and one support person. The Law Library is open to the public, has two public computers and wireless access is available. Professional reference service is available.  You can learn more about the Library by contacting the library staffvisiting the Library, or reading more about the history of the University of Maine School of Law.

The Maine State Law and Legislative Reference Library is established by statute (3 MRSA 171) as a nonpartisan service office of the Maine Legislature. The Library serves the public interest by providing legal and governmental information services without discrimination to the people of Maine, their government and the legal community. The Legislature provided funds for the purchase of books for its use in 1826.  The law collection continued to grow as a section of the Maine State Library until 1971, when the Law and Legislative Reference Library was created as a legislative office.  Also at that time the Maine State Library moved to the newly-constructed Cultural Building, and the Law and Legislative Reference Library moved into space in the State House formerly occupied by the State Library. The library collection now houses about 111,000 volumes and provides electronic access to many resources.