Description: GENERAL EDITOR: Michael B. GerrardEnvironmental Law Practice Guide: State and Federal Law offers comprehensive coverage of the entire spectrum of federal and state environmental law. Everything you need all in one place! Provides practical guidance that cuts across all substantive areas of environmental law. Written for attorneys, consultants, regulators and facility managers by some of the foremost authorities in the country, this publication provides guidance through complex procedures and phases of environmental law practice, featuring state-by-state as well as subject-by-subject coverage. This publication consists of four major units:* Unit I: step-by-step guidance for procedural items involving, for example, environmental impact statements, land preservation, government financing, environmental management systems, document retention requirements, consultants and contractors, environmental due diligence, audits, liability, insurance, taxation, international activities, Indian country activities, regulatory takings, litigation, citizen suits, environmental justice, attorney's fees, conflicts of interest, ADR, civil and criminal enforcement, and practice before the EPA* Unit II: substantive law of environmental quality: air and water pollution, pollution prevention, indoor air quality, vapor intrusion, environmental trading programs, wetlands, drinking water, noise, oceans and coasts, and wildlife protection* Unit III: regulated substances and waste management, e.g.: identifying hazardous substances and hazardous wastes, RCRA, CERCLA, TSCA, OSHA, EPCRA, hazmat transportation, agricultural issues, pesticides, asbestos, lead, PCBs, molds, used oil, medical and infectious wastes, storage tanks, radioactive materials, preparation and responses to disasters and terrorism* Unit IV: state-by-state (plus D.C. and Puerto Rico) guide to environmental law, including an examination of the federal-state relationship, and state environmental law procedures, programmatic areas and reference guidesPractice materials include permit and litigation forms, lease clauses, environmental audit checklists, due diligence inquiry letters, site investigation and remediation forms and checklists directories of state governmental offices, lists of environmental and trade associations in each state, and bibliographies. Upon its initial publication, Environmental Law Practice Guide: State and Federal Law was named the Year's Best New Legal Practice Book by the Association of American Publishers.
Description: AUTHOR: Frank P. Grad Treatise on Environmental Law examines issues, analyzes the statutes and important case law in every area of environmental law:* Climate change and global warming * Air, water and noise pollution * Solid waste * Hazardous waste * Toxic substances * Radiation * Fertilizer and feedlot pollution * Pesticides * The National Environmental Policy Act and the "little NEPA's" of the states Environmental protection aspects of land use planning and controls * Public lands and conservation * International aspects of environmental protection under United States law * Attorneys' fees in environmental litigation * Alternative dispute resolution in environmental law * Self-compliance programs as alternatives to traditional command-and-control systems The treatise provides: * Thorough analysis of the statutes, regulations, and decisions * Coverage of the emerging issue of climate change and global warming, including U.S. and international initiatives * Coverage of the problems of growth, exhaustion of natural resources, aesthetic values, power shortages, effects of pollution on health * Primary source manuals of relevant federal statutes and regulatory material
Description: AUTHOR: Mitchell L. LathropWho Should Pay the Costs of Environmental Cleanup? Whether you represent the insurer or the insured, the potential costs can run into the millions if your client is found liable. To help you effectively represent your client, Insurance Coverage for Environmental Claims will walk you through the complexities of environmental insurance coverage. This comprehensive treatise will provide you with clear and concise analysis of: * Federal statutes, such as CERCLA, RCRA, NEPA, TSCA, EPCRA, OPCA, the Refuse Act, CWA, CAA, and the state analogs* The particular insurance policies at issue* Reinssurance* Case preparation and discovery* Jurisdiction, venue and choice of law* Scientific and technical considerations--environmental assessment and remediation techniquesCutting Client Costs--Consider Alternatives to Litigation Expensive litigation, uncertainty of results, publicity, and lengthy time delays are making alternative dispute resolution (ADR) an increasingly welcomed vehicle for resolving both domestic and international insurance disputes. Author Mitchell Lathrop provides extensive coverage of the non-litigation avenues available to insurers and insureds alike. Stay Up-to-Date with the Latest Insurance TopicsWith cutting edge coverage of the hottest insurance issues and tools, insightful analysis and straightforward explanations of policy language, you can determine where you and your client stand today and how to improve your client's position tomorrow.
Description: GENERAL EDITOR: Michael B. GerrardDefinitive and up-to-date coverage of brownfields laws, regulations, programs, and procedures across the nation.Brownfields Law and Practice: The Cleanup and Redevelopment of Contaminated Land is the complete guide for developers, investors, lenders, property owners, and others who want to seize the opportunity of profitable investment, voluntary cleanup or redevelopment of contaminated land and for their attorneys. It is replete with practice notes and analysis of rapidly evolving federal and state initiatives, programs and policies so that lawyers can most effectively counsel their clients, consider choices in structuring brownfields transactions and negotiate agreements with other parties, including exit strategies to enable brownfields projects to successfully proceed.Every aspect of the brownfields endeavor, such as legal liability pitfalls, assessments of contamination, self-audit privilege laws, valuation of contaminated property, financial issues and incentives, tax considerations, and specialized insurance policies is considered in-depth. In addition, explanations of federal and state requirements as to problems frequently encountered in the brownfields cleanup process, such as underground storage tanks, asbestos-containing materials, vapor intrusion, lead-based paint, hazardous substance spills, environmental contractor licensing and laboratory certification, are provided.As a result of having the complete brownfields guide, each party and its counsel can: * Identify and understand the applicable laws and issues * Select the appropriate type and degree of cleanup * Assess the environmental, financial, and legal risks and liabilities * Minimize and allocate those potential risks and liabilities * Make optimal use of opportunities for brownfields redevelopment and reuseFeatures include detailed chapter summaries; extensive headings and subheadings; practice pointers; sample forms; individual state chapters; lists of laws, governmental contacts, brownfields redevelopers, and web sites; appendices of EPA policy statements and memoranda of agreement; glossary of terms; and bibliography.
Description: GENERAL EDITOR: Susan M. Cooke; CO-GENERAL EDITOR: Christopher P. DavisEverything You Need to Know About the Law of Hazardous Waste. National in scope, this comprehensive treatise contains everything you will need to know about current laws, regulations, and cases--both at the federal and state levels regarding the management of hazardous waste, whether newly generated or the result of past dumping, including: * Identification of hazardous waste* Requirements for generators and transporters* Treatment, storage and disposal facility requirements* Recycling requirements* Underground storage tank and spill reporting requirements* Emergency planning and community right-to-know provisions* Enforcement of waste management requirements* Cleanup requirements* Liability under Superfund and its state analogs, as well as other federal environmental statutes that regulate and impose liability for hazardous substance managementThis resource also provides coverage of international regulations and programs affecting the transport and management of hazardous waste. Understand Your Client's Responsibilities. The Law of Hazardous Waste: Management, Cleanup, Liability, and Litigation spells out your client's legal responsibilities so that you can help your client avoid liability and severe civil and criminal penalties. Develop Effective Management Strategies. From minimizing your client's environmental liability at the outset of a corporate transaction to managing, treating and storing hazardous waste, this comprehensive legal resource provides you with complete, step-by-step guidance of this broad and complex area of law. Support Your Client's Position with Current Case and Statutory Law. This treatise provides you with comprehensive coverage of the latest legislation, regulations, and cases decided nationally that affect the law of hazardous waste. The Law of Hazardous Waste: Management, Cleanup, Liability, and Litigation is often cited by the courts nationwide.
"This EPA Compliance and Enforcement Answer Book is an outstanding resource for corporate and outside counsel to better represent clients confronted with such environmental enforcement issues and liability. It is practical, comprehensive, informative, well-organized, and easy to read. The book uniquely covers a range of subjects related to the inner workings of the EPA that only former Agency enforcement attorneys can provide. It offers guidance on how to prepare for and weather government investigations. "
"This book, borrowing from more than a century of cumulative experience in the field, is intended to assist stakeholders by explaining the labyrinthine requirements of the FDC Act, and to describe enforcement that may result from lack of compliance, if the lessons of compliance cannot otherwise be learned."
The Spill Reporting Procedures Guide has been developed as an aid to fulfilling the requisite federal, state, and local reporting requirements. The Spill Reporting Procedures Guide is divided into two major sections: Federal Reporting Requirements and State Reporting Requirements. The State Reporting Requirements section covers all 50 states and the District of Columbia. This Guide contains the verbal and written reporting requirements for Excess Air Emissions, Hazardous Materials, Hazardous Substances, Hazardous Wastes, Oil, SARA Title III, Tank Leaks, and Wastewater Excursions.
Preface- "We have emphasized principles of law as set out by the Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission, Mine Safety and Health Review Commission, and the courts. Published decisions by administrative law judges are occasionally highlighted where well-reasoned opinions may add depth to the analysis provided herein, or may give readers a sense of how the law is evolving. "
Current report providing news and developments surrounding environmental laws, regulations, and policies in all major industrialized and developing nations, as well as international governmental and nongovernmental organizations.