Skip to main content

Research Strategies for Successful Completion of Your Upper Level Writing Requirement: Articles - Other

On This Page...

Introduction - Why Seek Articles from Non-Legal Journals?

If your topic is — or might be — interdisciplinary, look for articles from non-legal journals. This will add depth and interest to your paper, comment, or note. Look especially for articles from "peer reviewed" journals for the field in question, because these articles will be the among most scholarly and rigorous.

If you get a citation to the article without a link to the full text, use URSUS to see if we have access to the journal electronically or in print.  

HINT: Search using the title of the journal, not the title of the article.  If you run into any roadblocks, consult with a Reference Librarian.

If you want to research your topic and don't have an article to start with, you will need to use Mariner to access the many databases we have access to as a part of the University of Maine System. 

In the next box there is detail instruction on how to use Mariner.

Using Mariner

Mariner is the portal researchers can use to access the multitude of electronic databases available via the University of Maine System.  Here the researcher will find databases from the health sciences, the social sciences and much more.  

There are two ways in which to access the Mariner databases.  The first is via the sites One Search feature, in the Quick Search Box.  Here the researcher can enter search terms and One Search will search all of the databases in the Mariner portal and retrieve relevant material from them all.  The material retrieved can include both books as well as journal articles and newspaper articles.

The second way to access the Mariner databases is via the A-Z Database listing.  The clicking either the "Indexes and Databases" tab in the "Quick Search" box or by clicking the "Indexes and Databases" link in the yellow box near the center of the page, the researcher will be directed to an alphabetical listing of all of the databases to which they have access.  Clicking the links provided will take you directly to the database, where you can enter your search terms.

Below are just a few databases that may help you with your research.