Boat
History
- Naval History in the Law Courts : A Selection of Old Maritime CasesCall Number: ElectronicPublication Date: 1927Available from Hein on Line. Access restricted to Garbrecht Law Library.
All Databases
- Try the A-Z list.The A-Z list provides one place to access all the databases available at the Garbrecht Law Library.
About This Guide
This guide provides a list of maritime legal resources available to students at the Garbrecht Law Library. It includes books, databases, journals and internet resources.
Definition
Black's Law Dictionary (11th ed. 2019)
Maritime Law. The body of law governing marine commerce and navigation, the carriage at sea of persons and property, and marine affairs in general; the rules governing contract, tort, and workers'-compensation claims or relating to commerce on or over water. — Also termed admiralty; admiralty law; sea law. Cf. general maritime law; law of the sea.
Lexis Resources on Maritime Law
- Overview of Resources Available on LexisMaritime Law Resources on Lexis Including, Maritime Cases, Statutes, News, Benedict on Admiralty, Journal of Maritime Law and Commerce, Loyola Maritime Law Journal, Tulane Maritime Law Journal, & University of San Francisco Maritime Law Journal. More Information. Includes "domestic federal and state maritime case law from 1912 with sporadic coverage back to 1795. It also contains selected arbitration decisions, Canadian statutes and cases, as well as other historical documents from various federal departments, such as selected Federal Maritime Commission,, the National Transportation Safety
- Benedict on AdmiraltyThe seventh edition expanded the scope of the work to cover every aspect of the American law of the sea and shipping.
Westlaw Resources on Maritime Law
- Overview of Resources Avaialbale on WestlawResources available on Westlaw for Maritime Law. Including, Schoenbaum's Admiralty & Maritime Law , Law of Seamen, Law of Maritime Personal Injuries, Tulane Maritime Law Journal, & University of San Francisco Maritime Law Journal.
- The Law of SeamenThe Law of Seamen, 5th Edition
| November 2020 Update
Robert Force and Martin J. Norris - FJC: Admiralty & Maritime LawThe FJC's Admiralty & Maritime Law introduces federal judges and lawyers to admiralty and maritime law, including both general maritime and statutory law. The author examines the rules relating to jurisdiction and procedure that are peculiar to this field. Topics include areas relating to commercial law, such as charter parties, carriage of goods, and marine insurance. The Carriage of Goods by Sea Act, the Pomerene Act, and the Harter Act receive extensive treatment. The monograph explains the body of law dealing with maritime personal injury and death, including damages and seamen's remedies...
Track Bills
- U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and TransportationSee the Subcommittee on Oceans, Atmosphere, Fisheries, and Coast Guard & Surface Transportation and Merchant Marine Infrastructure, Safety and Security.
Blogs
- The Maritime Law Blog"This blog features current legal information and analysis concerning cruise ship passengers' injuries, crew member lawsuits and boat owner insurance claims."
Maritime Law Organizations
- International Maritime Law Institute"The IMO International Maritime Law Institute was established under the auspices of the International Maritime Organization, a specialised agency of the United Nations."
- International Maritime Law Organization"As a specialized agency of the United Nations, IMO is the global standard-setting authority for the safety, security and environmental performance of international shipping. Its main role is to create a regulatory framework for the shipping industry that is fair and effective, universally adopted and universally implemented. "