Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Maritime Law

Non-Legal Journal Databases

Mariner is the portal researchers can use to access the multitude of electronic databases available via the University of Maine System.  Here the researcher will find databases from the health sciences, the social sciences and much more.  

There are two ways in which to access the Mariner databases.  The first is via the sites One Search feature, in the Quick Search Box.  Here the researcher can enter search terms and One Search will search all of the databases in the Mariner portal and retrieve relevant material from them all, even those to which the law school does not subscribe.  That can be frustrating for the patron.  The Law Library's A-Z Database List can be found HERE!

Some commonly used databases are listed below.

SSRN & Google Scholar

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, including the law.  A researcher can conduct searches from the SSRN search page to find articles of interest.

Google Scholar, while not comprehensive, provides a quick way to get a cross-disciplinary set of articles. It can be especially useful as you start your research and are still refining your search terms.

With Advanced Search you can limit by date or by subject area (such as "Social Sciences, Arts, and Humanities"). For search tips and advice, see Google Scholar Help and the Advance Scholar Search Tips.

Google Scholar Search

Finding News Articles