Is a Treaty In Force?
- Treaties in ForceU.S. Department of State
Office of Treaty Affairs
Treaties in Force is published annually by the Department of State to provide information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States is presently a party. It lists those treaties and other international agreements in force for the United States as of the stated publication date for each edition. More information about the scope, contents, and organization of Treaties in Force can be found in the Foreword to each edition. - Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-GeneralUnited Nations Treaty Collection
This database provides information on the status of over 560 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (including the subsequent treaty actions, texts of reservations, declarations and objections) and reflects the latest consolidated status of these instruments, as Member States sign, ratify, accede or lodge declarations, reservations or objections.
Treaties
- World Treaty Library from Hein On LineTreaty Library from HeinOnLine. Includes:
Historical Treaty Index 1648-1919
Multilateral Treaty Calendar 1648-1995
Hein's U.S. Treaty Index (1776-current)
Marten's Treaties (1817-1944)
Native American Treaties
Rohn's World Treaty Index (1900-1980)
League of Nations Treaty Series (1920-1946)
United Nations Treaty Series (1946-current) - League of Nations Treaty SeriesLeague of Nations Treaty Series (5 July 1920 - 3 October 1948)
This is a collection of treaties and subsequent treaty actions registered with and published by the Secretariat of the League of Nations pursuant to Article 18 of its Covenant. It contains the texts of treaties and records of subsequent treaty actions published in 205 volumes of the League of Nations Treaty Series with 9 issues of the General Index to treaties to facilitate the research.
Books & Other Resources
- International Legal MaterialsInternational Legal Materials
Published on a bimonthly basis since 1962, International Legal Materials reproduces primary international legal documents reflecting the broad scope and evolution of international law. Materials are selected by the Committee and its Attorney-Editor based on their usefulness to scholars, practitioners, and government and international officials. Each issue contains the full texts, together with prefatory notes, of important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations resolutions, and other documents.
- The Secret Treaties of History byCall Number: UMLaw Reference KZ118 .G76 2007ISBN: 0837732352Publication Date: 2007-01-01A chronology of specific secret treaties and their sources -- The treaty compilations, documentaries, and other sources of secret treaty texts and information on specific secret treaties that are cited to in Chapter 1 -- Where to search for treaties that were signed before 1648 -- The secret understanding
Introduction to the Law of Treaties by Call Number: UMLaw Reference KZ1301 .R4513 1995ISBN: 0710305028Publication Date: 1995-01-08Shortly before his death, Reuter thoroughly revised and updated the 1985 version for an English edition, taking into account the newly adopted 1986 Vienna Convention on treaties between states and international organizations, as well as recent developments in international codification efforts, undertaken under the auspices of the United Nations International Law Commission, with which he had been very closely associated for many years.
Blackstone's International Law Documents by Call Number: UMLaw Reference KZ64 .B53 2009ISBN: 9780199560325Publication Date: 2009-11-02
Definition
Black's Law Dictionary ( 12th ed. 2024)
Definition:
Treaty (15c)