intro
The following is a curated list of study aids available on our subscription platforms. This list is not exhaustive, so we encourage you to explore each study aid database for more options. These resources are designed to complement your coursework and enhance your exam preparation.
West Academic
This is a sample of the books available on West Academic Study Aids. Please visit the West Academic Study Aids Library to review all the titles.
Exam Pro on Criminal Law (Objective) by
This study aid contains more than 200 multiple-choice questions, some of which focus on specific subject areas, and some of which are mixed together in practice exams covering multiple topics. Together, these questions survey most of the material covered in a typical criminal law course. Each question is accompanied by a detailed and thorough explanation of what is the correct answer to each of these questions, and what is not. These answers can be used to foster a deeper understanding of criminal law and to show students exactly how to apply the rules they learned in class on an actual multiple-choice exam.
ISBN: 9781636593098Publication Date: 2022-01-10- Sum and Substance Audio on Criminal Law by Publication Date: March 4th, 2024 Subject: Criminal Law Series: Sum and Substance Audio Type: Audio Description: This audio lecture overviews the sources and nature of criminal law. Examines the theories of punishment, actus reus, mens rea, mistake of fact, and actual and proximate causation. Also addresses all of the major defenses and the concepts of inchoate and accessory liability. The Sum & Substance Audio Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience - listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The audio lecture provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These audio lectures are time saving, convenient and effective.ISBN: 9781636591124Publication Date: 2021-04-05
Aspen Study Aids
Jumpstart Criminal Law: Reading and Understanding Criminal Cases and Statutes by
Jumpstart Criminal Law explores the context in which criminal statutes are drafted and enacted and in which criminal trials and appeals take place by considering the relationship between state and federal criminal prosecutions and trials; the difference between criminal offenses and defenses in different jurisdictions; the steps in the criminal justice process; the separate roles of judge and jury in criminal cases, and their significance; "element analysis" in criminal cases and with criminal statutes; the nature of the different types of criminal law defenses; criminal defense ethics; how, when, and why conduct is criminalized; and the role of "mens rea" and "actus reus" in criminal law.
ISBN: 9798889068082Publication Date: 2024- Criminal Law: In Other Words Audio Series by The audio files from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each lecture is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In these Criminal Law lectures, Kelly Strader gives an Introduction to Criminal Law and covers Murder, Conspiracy, Manslaughter, and Murder and Malice. Kent Kasper covers Accomplice Liability, Defenses, Mens Rea Requirements, and Judge vs. Jury. Ray Chao explains Elements of Rape, Strict Liability Crimes, Attempt - Mens Rea, and Elements of a Crime.ISBN: 9781543823806Publication Date: 2020
CALI - The Center for Computer- Assisted Legal Instruction
A selection of lessons available from CALI:
- Sources of Criminal Law by This exercise provides an overview of the sources of American substantive criminal law. Particular attention is paid to the Model Penal Code and the U.S. Sentencing Guidelines. Learning Outcomes On completion of the lesson, the student will be able to: Explain the role of the three branches of government in the making of criminal law. Explain why the model penal code is studied.
- Self-Defense by This is a lesson dealing with the basic justification defense of self-defense. Most of us would name self-defense as the primary justification defense; and, it is perhaps the most common or familiar of all defenses. Yet self-defense has roots in other defenses at early common law. Therefore, this lesson begins with a consideration of those roots. Moreover, there is considerable overlap between the various defenses, even when one agrees on classification. Thus, understanding the basics of self-defense is essential to understanding many or all of the justification defenses. The purpose of this lesson is to present very simply the elements of self-defense. Even a student who is just beginning the study of defenses should be comfortable working this lesson. Learning Outcomes On completion of the lesson, the student will be able to: Identify the four elements of the defense of self-defense. Explain that a defendant must not be an aggressor for these general principles to apply. Analyze the Model Penal Code limits on the use of deadly force.
- Duty to Retreat by This lesson covers the subject of the duty to retreat as a requirement for the justification defense of self-defense. The lesson reviews the common law and current status of the duty to retreat. This subject matter is not particularly complicated, but there are some details that require close scrutiny. The lesson assumes some understanding of the duty to retreat as integrated into the defense of self-defense. One who works the lesson will pinpoint the nuances of issues that arise in the context of current issues relating to the duty to retreat, and exceptions to the requirement of retreat. Finally, the lesson focuses on appropriate instructions to the jury on the duty of retreat.
- Introduction to Homicide by This lesson provides a basic overview of the law of homicide. It is an introductory lesson to get you started on distinguishing criminal from noncriminal homicide, identifying the elements of homicide, and analyzing the varying degrees of homicide. The lesson guides you through applying the basic concepts of actus reus, mens rea and causation to homicide offenses and provides an analytical framework for approaching homicide problems. Finally, it provides separate practice questions and an opportunity to try out the problem-solving approach on an exam-type question.
- Accomplice Liability - Mens Rea by This lesson continues our discussion of accomplice liability. In a prior lesson, we examined how the common law and the Model Penal Code classified various types of accomplices. In another prior lesson, we examined the actus reus requirement for accomplice liability. In this lesson, we continue the discussion by focusing on the mens rea requirement for accomplice liability. The lesson is intended for students who have studied these issues in class, and who wish to refine their understanding and knowledge of the topic.
Resources and Outline available from Westlaw and Lexis
- BarBri Outlines on LexisBarBri outlines are available from Lexis. Use your Law School Lexis password.
- Westlaw Outlines & Suggested ResourcesWestlaw provides outline shells and suggested resources with their Law School Tool Kit.