First Year - Torts - Study Guides for Law Student Success - LibGuides at University of Maine School of Law

Aspen -Torts

Tort titles available in Aspen Study Aids include:

Tort Law: In Other Words Video Series
Tort Law: In Other Words Audio Series
Inside Torts: What Matters and Why
Jumpstart Torts: Reading and Understanding Torts Cases
Friedman's Practice Series for Torts, Second Edition
Emanuel Law Outlines for Torts, Tenth Edition
Glannon Guide to Torts, Fourth Edition
Emanuel Crunch Time for Torts, Fifth Edition
Examples & Explanations for The Law of Torts, Sixth Edition

Aspen Learning Library

West Academic Study Aids

Many more titles can be found on West Academic. Go to the MYLaw Portal and West Academic is available under Maine Law Quick Links. Torts study guides include:

High Court Cases Summaries, Torts (Keyed to Prosser, Wade, Schwartz, Kelly, and Partlett, 14th)
Publication Date: 2020
This title contains briefs for each major case in Prosser, Wade, Schwartz, Kelly, and Partlett's casebook on Torts. These briefs will help you identify, understand, and absorb the core knowledge points from each case. They are followed by legal analysis, providing contextual background about each case, and connecting the case to the broader concepts developed throughout the casebook. This title also supplies case vocabulary, with definitions of new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.
Sum and Substance Audio on Torts
Publication Date: 2019
While commuting or exercising learn about battery; assault; false imprisonment; intentional infliction of emotional distress; defense of self, others, property; recapture of chattel, trespass to land, trespass to chattel, conversion, public/private necessity, consent; negligence: duty, breach, proximate cause, joint tortfeasers; damages: nominal, punitive, and compensatory; surviving personal injury actions; wrongful death, wrongful birth/life, strict liability, affirmative defense to negligence with economic advantage, nuisance, misuse of judicial process, products liability, defamation and related torts, invasions of privacy. Information useful to preparing and pressing your case.
Torts in a Nutshell
Publication Date: 2020
A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.

West Academic Study Aids
The most update to date study guides are found here and at the Lexis Digital Library. West Academic Study Aids includes print and audio books.
INCLUDES:
* Titles for 150+ topics and practice areas
* 14 series titles, many keyed to casebooks
Acing Series Quick Review Series - Black Letter Outline - Legalines - Exam Pro - Career Guides - Gilbert Law Summaries - Law Stories - High Court Case Summaries - Hornbook - Concise Hornbook Series - Short and Happy Series - Nutshell - Dictionary
This resource is limited to Maine Law students. For more information contact the Library.

West Academic Study Aids

Resources and Outline available from Westlaw and Lexis

BarBri Outlines on Lexis
BarBri outlines are available from Lexis. Use your Law School Lexis password.
Westlaw Outlines & Suggested Resources
Westlaw provides outline shells and suggested resources with their Law School Tool Kit.

More Information On Lexis Digital Library - Study Aids

The Law Student's Guide to Doing Well and Being Well
The ABA and most state bar associations have identified a wellness crisis in the legal profession, and called for educating students on how to better cope with the challenges of law school and practice. At the same time, students must learn how to maximize their brain health so that they perform well in law school and on behalf of their clients in practice. The same way musicians would tune their instruments, or chefs would sharpen their knives, law students must sharpen their minds. This book aims to help students "do well" in their ability to learn, and "be well" in the process, by exploring the deep connection between brain health and wellness.

Lexis Digital Library
The most update to date study guides are found here and at the West Academic Study Aids.
Available to Maine Law students and faculty the Lexis Digital Library contains treatises and study aids.
Study Aids include:
Questions & Answers - Understanding - Skills & Values - Mastering

LexisNexis Digital Library

CALI

Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction
The Center is best known for CALI Lessons, online interactive tutorials in legal subjects.
U.Maine Law Students. To receive a CALI password
Please contact the reference desk at 780-4351 or lawref@maine.edu or maureen.quinlan@maine.edu
The CALI database is only available to University of Maine School of Law students.

Have Questions?

Have questions? Looking for a Study Guide not available on this list? Please contact the Law Library Reference Desk. We are here to help. Contact lawref@maine.edu or Stop by the Library on the Lower Level.