Intro
The following is a curated list of study aids available on our subscription platforms. This list is not exhaustive, so we encourage you to explore each study aid database for more options. These resources are designed to complement your coursework and enhance your exam preparation.
This is a sample of the Constitutional Law Titles available on West Academic Study Aids. Please visit the West Academic Study Aids Library to review all the titles.
Barron and Dienes's Constitutional Law in a Nutshell, 11th by
This 11th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. This edition includes over thirty new cases. Among the decisions featured in this edition are two highly controversial departures from the Court’s precedents. One such case is Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization, 142 S. Ct. 2228 (2022), discussed in Chapter 5, where the Supreme Court reversed Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) and Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 U. S. 833 (1992). The Court held in Dobbs that no right to abortion is implicit in any provision of the Constitution including the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. Justice Breyer, joined by Justices Sotomayor and Kagan, dissented and protested that Roe and Casey had “protected the liberty and equality of women” for half a century.
ISBN: 9798887865300Publication Date: 2024-04-29
A Short and Happy Guide to Constitutional Law by
This efficient book takes the complex subject matter of Constitutional Law and makes it easier to understand and digest. World-renowned Villanova Law Dean and Professor Mark Alexander carefully explains the key concepts involved in Con Law and also brings it home with straightforward explanations of why you are reading and discussing the cases you are assigned every day. The subject matter runs the gamut from Marbury v. Madison and the structural side of the course to Due Process and Equal Protection. In addition, he provides exam-taking tips, and general words of guidance on how to make it through law school, and beyond, to a rewarding legal career.
ISBN: 9781642422474Publication Date: 2019-05-13
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by
This 10th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. In this edition we feature thirty new cases. Some of the highlights include Rucho v. Common Cause (2-10) where the Court held 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that partisan gerrymandering is a non-justiciable issue beyond the competence of the federal judiciary. In Department of Commerce v. New York (2019), although the Court ruled that the Enumeration Clause of the Constitution grants authority to Congress and "by extension" to the Secretary of Commerce to include a question about citizenship on the 2020 Census questionnaire, the Court could not approve it because the rationale presented to the Court was contrived and was based on a pretext. In Timbs v. Indiana (2019), the Court demonstrated that there still is vitality in the incorporation doctrine and held that the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment is an "incorporated" protection applicable to the States under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.
ISBN: 9781684673285Publication Date: 2020-01-30- Sum and Substance by Sum & Substance Audio Series allows you to assimilate the essentials of the course at your convenience – listen while working, commuting, exercising or just relaxing. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. The Audio provides Quick Reference Indexing, allowing you to quickly locate every topic in the entire recording. Also provided are exam tips to maximize your performance and Lifetime guarantee. These Audios are time saving, convenient and effective.ISBN: 9781647089795Publication Date: 2024
Resources and Outline available from Westlaw and Lexis
- BarBri Outlines on LexisBarBri outlines are available from Lexis. Use your Law School Lexis password.
- Westlaw Outlines & Suggested ResourcesWestlaw provides outline shells and suggested resources with their Law School Tool Kit.
- Lessons By Subject Outline - Constitutional LawThis Subject Outline allows you to search for terms of art that correspond to topics you are studying to find suggestions for related CALI Lessons.
- Marbury v. MadisonThis lesson concerns Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803), a difficult and important case in Constitutional Law. It is contained in every Constitutional Law casebook and usually appears as one of the first cases. This lesson is designed to assist students to understand Marbury v. Madison and its relevance.
Books
Constitutional Law by
"A comprehensive, accessible text that presents the law solely through case excerpts and author-written essays"-- Provided by publisher
Contents
Historical background and contemporary themes -- The federal judicial power -- The federal legislative power -- The federal executive power -- Limits on state regulatory and taxing power -- The structure of the Constitution's protection of civil rights and civil liberties -- Procedural due process -- Economic liberties -- Equal protection -- Fundamental rights -- First Amendment : expression -- First Amendment : religion
Call Number: KF4550 .C429 2024ISBN: 9798886144611Publication Date: 2024
Aspen Learning Library
Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights by
Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, 10th edition, by Allan Ides, Christopher N. May, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to individual rights. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume, Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines clear textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations, and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course that includes a study of individual rights.
Call Number: Electronic: Aspen Learning LibraryISBN: 9798894101873Publication Date: 2024
Examples and Explanations for First Amendment by
Award-winning teacher and respected author of several volumes, Professor Laura Little has written a new book on the First Amendment. Following the proven Examples and Explanations format, the book covers all of the amendment’s major topics – with emphasis on speech and religion. Professor Little presents hypothetical examples that range from simple and straightforward to complex and rich. As a result, students using the book can acquire both basic and advanced knowledge of First Amendment doctrine. Equally important, this approach allows students the opportunity to practice their skill of marshalling arguments on many sides of contested legal issues.
Call Number: Electronic Aspen Learning LibraryISBN: 9781543822298Publication Date: 2021-03-09- Constitutional Law: In Other Words Video Series by Audio is also available. The videos from the In Other Words series cover fundamental topics in law. Each video is written and presented by a law professor or legal practitioner. In this Constitutional Law video, Susan Carle explains the topic of Attacking a Procedural Due Process Claim.Call Number: Electronic Available on Aspen Learning LibraryISBN: 9781543824001
