It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Study Guides for Law Student Success
Study resources for law students available in the Law Library.
The most update to date study guides are found here and at the Lexis Digital Library. West Academic Study Aids includes print and audio books.
* Titles for 150+ topics and practice areas
* 14 series titles, many keyed to casebooks
Acing Series Quick Review Series - Black Letter Outline - Legalines - Exam Pro - Career Guides - Gilbert Law Summaries - Law Stories - High Court Case Summaries - Hornbook - Concise Hornbook Series - Short and Happy Series - Nutshell - Dictionary
This resource is limited to Maine Law students. For more information contact the Library.
Authors: Aman Jr., Alfred C. / Mayton, William T.
Copyright Date: 2014
Description: This treatise sets forth a comprehensive analysis of administrative law in the United States. Administrative law continues to evolve in interesting ways in all of its various dimensions. The authors address the new developments in the law of standing, congressional attempts to make agencies more accountable, and the continuing evolution of Chevron deference, among other issues. The fundamental purposes of this book are to assess and explain fundamental doctrines of administrative law, placing some of the most important aspects of those doctrines in a historical context, and setting forth the current state of the law. The book is intended to serve practitioners, scholars and students of administrative law.
Author: Werhan, Keith
Copyright Date: 2019
Description: This book provides an accessible, yet sophisticated treatment of the essential principles of administrative law. Topics covered include a history of the American administrative state; theories of agency behavior; separation of powers and procedural due process, as they are implicated by the administrative process; the procedural framework of the Administrative Procedure Act; formal adjudicatory procedure; informal rulemaking procedure; and the availability, timing, and scope of judicial review. The book includes charts and diagrams that assist the reader in visualizing the major elements of the administrative process.
More Information On Lexis Digital Library - Study Aids
Lexis Digital Library
The most update to date study guides are found here and at the West Academic Study Aids.
Available to Maine Law students and faculty the Lexis Digital Library contains treatises and study aids.
Study Aids include:
Questions & Answers - Understanding - Skills & Values - Mastering
AuthorAlfred Aman, William Penniman
Skills & Values: Administrative Law allows students to experience the connection among theory, doctrine, and practice in criminal procedure law. The exercises provide an opportunity for studying concepts from the perspective of a practicing attorney who must not only know the law, but also employ lawyering skills and values - such as legal strategy, factual development, advocacy, counseling, drafting, problem solving, and ethical principles - in zealously representing a client.
Mastering Administrative Law is designed as a supplement to law school courses in Administrative Law or as an introduction to the subject for lawyers trained in other legal systems. The book explicitly and in plain language identifies the functions of the various principles of administrative law. To facilitate the mastery of topics, this book includes a Roadmap at the beginning of each chapter that provides readers with an overview of the material that will be covered; Checkpoints at the end of each chapter that reiterate what has been learned; and a 2018
Master Checklist at the end of the book that reinforces what has been covered and helps readers identify any areas that need review or further study.
This study guide uses over 200 multiple-choice and short-answer questions to test your students' knowledge of administrative law and procedure. It includes an introduction to the study of administrative law and the Administrative Procedure Act, as well as such topics as rulemaking procedures, adjudication procedures and due process, retroactivity, non-legislative rules, reviewability, agency structure, inspections, reports, subpoenas, the Freedom of Information Act, and attorneys' fees.
"The Federal Regulations Advisor is dedicated to monitoring, reporting, and improving on the state of federal regulatory activity — not just who filed what, but how it all fits together — the regulations, court cases, Congressional actions, leadership movement, and related activity."
"The Journal of Things We Like (Lots)–JOTWELL–invites you to join us in filling a telling gap in legal scholarship by creating a space where legal academics can go to identify, celebrate, and discuss the best new scholarship relevant to the law."
Have questions? Looking for a Study Guide not available on this list?
Please contact the Law Library Reference Desk. We are here to help.