The following is a curated list of study aids available on our subscription platforms. This list is not exhaustive, so we encourage you to explore each study aid database for more options. These resources are designed to complement your coursework and enhance your exam preparation.
- American Indian Law in a Nutshell. 7th ed. 2020Available to students & faculty on West Academic.
This guide provides a reliable resource on American Indian law. Its authoritative text covers the essentials of this complex body of law, with attention to the governmental policies underlying it. The work emphasizes both the historical development of Federal Indian Law and recent matters such as the evolution of Indian gaming, issues arising under the Indian Child Welfare Act, and the present enforcement of treaty rights. It addresses the policy and law applicable to Alaska Natives, but does not deal with Native Hawai'ians. - Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law. Sample Enlarge cover Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian LawAvailable to students & faculty on Lexis Digital Library.
Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law is an encyclopedic treatise written by experts in the field, and provides general overviews to relevant information as well as in-depth study of specific areas within this complex area of federal law. This is an updated and revised edition of what has been referred to as the "bible" of federal Indian law. This publication focuses on the relationship between tribes, the states and the federal government within the context of civil and criminal jurisdiction, as well as areas of resource management and government structure. The 2012 Edition of Cohen's Handbook of Federal Indian Law also includes coverage of:
Current topics such as Indian gaming and taxation
History and structure of tribal governments and tribal law
"Tribal and individual Indian property rights, including intellectual property rights
Water rights
Hunting, fishing, and gathering rights
Economic development issues
Government programs
This compact publication is the only comprehensive treatise explicating one of the most difficult areas of federal law. Used by judges as well as practitioners, this publication provides the tools to understand the law and to find relevant cases, statutes, regulations, and opinions critical to answering legal questions about federal Indian law. This updated edition remains the definitive guide to federal Indian law." - Federal Indian Law. 1st ed. 2016Available to students & faculty on West Academic.
"Fletcher’s Hornbook on Federal Indian Law is a deep survey of the history and substantive law governing the relations between the three American sovereigns, federal, state, and tribal. Interwoven are issues of federalism, administrative law, constitutional rights, and international relations. This hornbook includes original research and novel analysis of foundational Supreme Court decisions and critical federal statutory schemes – the stories beyond the stories. In addition to delving into the origins and histories of cases and statutes, the hornbook analyzes modern Indian rights settlements, the international and comparative frontiers of Indian law, and the future of the field." - Indian Law Stories. 1st ed. 2011Available to students & faculty on West Academic.
"This book covers the often complex and unfamiliar doctrine of federal Indian law, exposing the raw conflicts over sovereignty and property that have shaped legal rulings. Fifteen distinguished authors describe gripping cases involving Indian nations over more than two centuries, each story emphasizing initiative in tribal communities and lawyering strategies that have determined the fate of nations." - Principles of Federal Indian Law. 1st ed. 2017Available to students & faculty on West Academic.
" Fletcher’s Principles of Federal Indian Law covers the basics of federal Indian law, the relationships between tribal, state, and federal sovereigns, also touching on federalism, agency law, civil rights, and criminal jurisdiction aspects of Indian law. This concise hornbook offers comprehensive coverage of the blackletter law, with statutory, regulatory, and historical context. The origins behind important doctrines of Indian law and critical statutes are explored in detail. This book is a useful introduction to the field for both students and practitioners."
Landmark Indian Law Cases by Call Number: UMLAW Stacks KF8205 .L36 2022ISBN: 0837742595Publication Date: 2022-01-01
